This year Docklands travelled with their strongest team yet to Pijnacker Holland to compete for the Holland Cup which took place on 3rd June 2012. Most of the participants were regulars to this area of Europe.

479 competitors were in attendance and the competition kicked off with patterns spread out over 7 rings. Over the last few years Docklands has had many medal winners in the patterns and this year was to prove no different.


Docklands Most Successful Competitor at Patterns Huong Nguyen

Docklands Most Successful Competitor at Patterns Huong Nguyen


Pattern Medallists


Thea Johanne Ness   Bronze

Huong Nguyen         Gold

Shahana Faryal         Gold

Sofia Pernikis           Gold

Slav Melnikovs         Silver

Caroline Cawtherley Gold

Amanda Holman       Silver


Caroline Cawtherley


The sparring brought more success and some disappointments. Amanda Holman took gold in her first competition. Thea Johanne Ness continued her fine year when she retained her title from 2011.


Sparring Medallist


Amanda Holman      Gold

Michael Pernikis       Bronze

Thea Johanne Ness   Gold



The final event of the day was the team sparring, having narrowly lost out last year in the fight off for 3rd with a somewhat under strength team, hopes were high as a full strength team competed. After dispatching two teams in the earlier rounds, one was the host club, ETA went up against the team that beat them last year and also earlier on this year in the final of their own competition, P.U.M.A. It was a close fought affair and went the full 5 bouts before ETA emerged victorious. The men’s team consisted of the following fighters, Zak Espi, Matt Cadle, Ronnie Roy, David Dobson, Stan Wozniak and Michael Pernikis.



To round off a wonderful event ETA won the overall event and took home the Holland Cup. The success was celebrated at a wonderful Chinese restaurant with all members of the ETA party in attendance as well as the Scottish contingent consisting of World famous Julia Cross.


ETA would like to thank Mr Tim Kool, Corine Kool and the rest of the organising team for once again putting on a splendid competition and looking after the team during our stay. We look forward to next year’s event. A big thanks to the coaches of ETA namely: Mr Piotr Capaja, Miss Julie Fagg, Mr Darren Anderson and Master Thomas Denis. And lastly well done to the competitors and supporters for making the



ETA Coaches


Docklands members who contributed to ETA success